HEARTS

brokenheart2Did you know that there is a medical diagnosis called Broken Heart Syndrome?  We have all heard the term, “died of a broken heart.”  I always imagined that to be more of a withering away of the heart but it is actually a form of cardiomyopathy, an enlargement of part of the heart reducing pumping capability.  In a recent American Heart Association article I read that broken heart syndrome is triggered by a surge of stress hormones, linking this condition to depression, loss of a loved one, rejection, etc.

I am not sure why this stuck with me except that Valentine’s Day focuses on the heart and not every heart is happy, some are deeply troubled.  I want to be aware and mindful of the brokenness and ever more appreciative of the happy happy.

healingheart

Psalm 51:17  My sacrifice, O God, is a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart you, God, will not despise.

Psalm 73:26  My flesh and my heart may fail,  but God is the strength of my heart
and my portion forever.

Ecclesiastes 7:14  When times are good, be happy; but when times are bad, consider this: God has made the one as well as the other. Therefore, no one can discover anything about their future.

About found4sure

I like to write. I think too much!
This entry was posted in Mental Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

