MAGNUM

magnumIf there is a winter weather advisory you can be sure that I have a scheduled visit with my son.  I chuckle at this  because inside I hear the voice of my firstborn daughter when I took her on her first roller coaster ride.  I encouraged her to ride the first season she met the height requirement so she could overcome her fear in the presence of momma.  I actually did not hear a quiver of fear from her until the ascent began up the 205 foot climb of the first hill of the Magnum XL 200.  The view to the right and left are completely unobstructed and extremely intimidating, even to the experienced rider!  Half way up the hill she said, “mom, what are you doing to me?!?”  Somewhere between that slow trek to the crest, a brief glimpse of the imminent plummet,  a 60 degree fall that swiftly propelled us to 72 mph,  carrying us over several more hills, through three tunnels, and eventually delivering us safely back to the station, she became a big coaster fan!

plummetOn life’s journey, I have at times felt very similar fear, at times the exhilarating thrill, and always an accompanying orchestra of emotion.  I’m over half way through my life now and there is still a puzzlement through the darkness of the tunnels, and often times white knuckles when I look over the crest of the hill, but my Lord always journeys alongside me and I still sometimes ask Him “Lord, what are you doing to me?”  He says, hang on to Me and trust Me enough to thrust your hands in the air with joy now and then.

WEEEEEEEE, gulp, weeeeeeeee.

Deuteronomy 31:8  The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”

About found4sure

I like to write. I think too much!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MAGNUM

  1. akeepingroom says:

    Love the thoughts and truth here! It’s our loving father that wants us to hang onto his strong hand as he leads us into new adventures. He doesn’t want our faith to be sluggish, but adrenaline pumping! Heb. 6:12!

Leave a Reply

