WORDS

This blog today is a sharing of my bible study.  I love the way God’s word cuts to the quick and then hugs with comfort of grace.  AHH, the love of a Father!

Communication does not begin and end with words, a fact that is learned soon after emerging from the womb.  Gradually we grasp that words are powerful for building up or tearing down, for healing or hurting, guiding or misleading, etc.  Eventually we will all be humbled by our words and recognize the depth of our need.

When we put bits into the mouths of horses to make them obey us, we can turn the whole animal. Or take ships as an example. Although they are so large and are driven by strong winds, they are steered by a very small rudder wherever the pilot wants to go. Likewise, the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts. Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark. The tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole body, sets the whole course of one’s life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell.  All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and sea creatures are being tamed and have been tamed by mankind, but no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison. (James 3:3-8)

But the things that come out of a person’s mouth come from the heart, and these defile them. For out of the heart come evil thoughts—murder, adultery, sexual immorality, theft, false testimony, slander.  (Matthew 15:18-19)

 For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. (Hebrews 4:12)

These bring me back to the realization of the depth of need.  I thank God that He has not left me without hope!

CaliforniaDreaminSo I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in me, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within me. What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death? Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord!  So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in my sinful natured a slave to the law of sin.  (Romans 7:21-25)

About found4sure

I like to write. I think too much!
This entry was posted in Life and Times, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WORDS

  1. akeepingroom says:

    Very true and powerful! Love the picture!

Leave a Reply

