COKE BOTTLES

I had 20/15 vision until Ocular Shingles reeked havoc a few years ago. Inflammation caused some corneal scarring and vision loss leaving one eye with astigmatism and night flares, far out man! I actually did not realize the degree of vision change until I drove the night leg, including route 95 in Virginia, on our drive to Richmond a couple years ago. Whoa, was that a stressful 90 minutes! The next ophthalmology appointment included a vision test and I left with a prescription for my first eyeglasses.

puppy_with_coke_bottle_glassesFast forward to 2013, my spectacles are two years old and road signs are fuzzy. I scheduled a vision exam and left with a robust prescription for new specs. I picked up my new lenses today. Remembering the instant clarity I had with the first pair, and the rare moments I’ve been without them since, I was shocked to find the world wavering in the realm of my new lenses; wavy and resembling intoxication. The staff assured me that this is normal with a new prescription and advised me to allow a couple days for adjustment.

The brain is beyond amazing. This ocular change reminded me of Feldenkrais, a method of small repetitive movements that aid in retraining the brain, unlearning inefficient and sometimes harmful habitual ways we move our bodies. The brain will remember the easier efficient movements that feel good after even just repetitively envisioning the adaptation!!!

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.  My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.  Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.  How precious to me are your thoughts, God!How vast is the sum of them!  Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand—when I awake, I am still with you.  (Psalm 139:13-18)

 

 

About found4sure

I like to write. I think too much!
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to COKE BOTTLES

  1. thelensoflaurajo says:

    Coke bottles unite!! I’ve been sporting them much longer than you and I guarantee that mine are way thicker (hence the reason you never see me wearing them)!! Much to be thankful for with modern medical advances 🙂

Leave a Reply

