I Knew A Boy

I knew a boy who had a dream that gave his eyes an expectant gleam.
I knew a boy who had a dream that wasn’t meant to be.

I knew a boy taunted by a bad dream and fright hindered his brown-eyed gleam.                   I knew a boy taunted by a bad dream and he could not shake the fear.

I knew a boy who sold his dream which robbed his eyes of an encouraged gleam.                    I knew a boy who sold his dream for needle tracks down his arms.

I knew a boy fooled by false dreams that distorted his eyes with an illusory gleam.                 I knew a boy fooled by false dreams and he deceived those who loved him too.

I knew a boy who lost hope in dreams and his eyes grew wild with a darkened gleam.           I knew a boy who lost hope in dreams and his world was a runaway train.

I knew a boy who forgot how to dream with no clarity, or reasoning, and a wayward gleam.  I knew a boy who forgot how to dream while he shivered and writhed with pain.

I knew a broken boy who found a seed of a dream by the shards reflecting a merciful gleam.  I knew a broken boy who found a seed of a dream from a Father that did not desert him.

I know a man given a collective dream that’s restored the glimmer of a hopeful gleam.          I know a man given a collective dream and hope is restored for today.

NoPoWriMo, Day 3  My Sea Shanty gone astray!

About found4sure

I like to write. I think too much!
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Knew A Boy

  1. thelensoflaurajo says:

    Absolutely beautiful. Tears were flowing!!

Leave a Reply

