Whistle A Tune

 

I was creating in the kitchen,

she was listening from her chair.

I commented that it was cold and rainy.

She said, “we have to have those days too.”

I poured her cup of hot water

and set it to her right.

As I turned back to the batter

I puckered and blew a tune.

She asked, “did you just whistle?”

Why yes, I did.

“Oh, that is great!”

I don’t often hear this excitement

in her voice anymore.

I know it reminded her of Grandpa.

He was always whistling.

She equates it with contentment

which has always been aplenty

in this country kitchen.

I have known this room all of my life.

Yes, Grandma, your home has always

been a source of love and contentment.

A welcome place for all.

gramskitchen

NaPoWriMo Day 14

About found4sure

I like to write. I think too much!
Aside | This entry was posted in Family, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whistle A Tune

Leave a Reply

